Welcome to the Albuquerque Chapter

Chapter Events

TO ALL INTERESTED PEOPLE: we hope to begin meeting in person at the NM Museum of Natural History in early 2022. Watch the website and your email for updates about location or Zoom links.

Monthly chapter meetings begin at 7 p.m. on the first Wednesdays of the month (except August and December) and are "broadcast" online via the Zoom application. As a security measure, the invitation with a link to each meeting will be sent in advance by email to all chapter members who have furnished an email address.

Non-members may either view with someone who is a member or send a request to program coordinator Sara Keeney at ABQ@npsnm.org. If your internet connection is unstable or slow, an alternative is to connect to audio by phone using one of the numbers provided in the Zoom invitation. But with a smart phone, you can use an invitation link instead of dialing up and you can even see the video content if you download the Zoom app. Use a wifi network if possible, as cellular data rates may apply.

Join the meeting between 6:50 (no earlier) and 7:00 p.m. by clicking on the link provided. Click "allow" when asked for Zoom to start up, and  "agree" if asked to join with computer audio. You may then have to wait briefly to be admitted by the host.

In addition to officially organized field trips (now discontinued until late spring), members are encouraged to continue getting outside for exercise, sunshine, and native plant appreciation. Please minimize wear and tear on the terrain and vegetation by staying on the trail. We invite you to join and post your observations on our members-only Facebook group: Native Plant Soc. of NM, Albuquerque Chapter!


    • President: Carol Conoboy
    • Vice President: Tom Stewart
    • Program Chair: Sara Keeney
    • Secretary: Dara Saville
    • Treasurer: Pam McBride
    • Outreach Event Coordinator: Volunteer needed!

    Core Volunteers

    • Books: Lee Regan
    • Communications: Carmen Alexander
    • Invasive Weeds Representative: Don Heinze
    • Publicity: Volunteer needed! (We will train you.)
    • Hospitality and Refreshments: (ditto)



    • Field Trip Coordinator: Lee Regan
    • Membership: Ann-Marie Yaroslaski
    • Newsletter Editor: Diane Stevenson
    • Representative to State Board: Judith Phillips
    • Conservation Committee Chair: Susan Small

    Chapter Newsletter

      The Albuquerque chapter newsletter is published quarterly.

      Current issue:

      2021 October - December Newsletter

      Previous issues:

      Click here!

      Flower Identification Tools

      Southwest Desert Flora

      Southwest Environmental Information Network -- SEINet (best searched using Google with a known plant name, and adding "SEINET" in the search)

      Vascular Plants of the Gila Wilderness (Russ Kleinman)

      Wildflower Search

      Wildflowers of New Mexico (George Miller)

      Annual Reports

      • 2020 Chapter Report (PDF)
      • 2019 Chapter Report (PDF)
      • 2018 Chapter Report (PDF)
      • 2017 Chapter Report (PDF)
      • 2016 Chapter Report (PDF)
      • 2015 Chapter Report (PDF)

      Click to download Albuquerque Chapter bylaws and policies in effect.

      Albuquerque Area Plant Lists

      Here are plants you might enjoy seeing on walks in our region, some within Albuquerque city limits. Of course, not all plants will be noticeable or in flower at any given time, depending on season and rainfall.

      Past Zoom Meetings

      Click here to view Zoom meetings from prior Albuquerque and statewide NPSNM meetings!